Cheating Husband


I am so excited to introduce you to todays guest blogger! He’s tall, bald and handsome…and, oh yeah, he’s my husband! Tim has been doing the Paleo Challenge for 7 days now! I asked him to share his experience with us. Tim is a counselor who works with students at Multnomah University and also has a private practice called Lighthouse Counseling in Clackamas. He enjoys watching sports, playing an occasional round of golf, the color purple and spoiling our cat, Halo.  Enjoy!

Hello fans of Trainer Kim!  This is Husband Tim, and I have been invited by my beautiful bride to do a guest post this week, and again after each week of our 30-day paleo challenge.  So, without any further interruption, let’s get this show on the road!
I have no problem eating a meal of pizza with a side of chips.  Beer and soda are my favorite thirst quenchers, while chewy carbs and melted cheese are some of my best friends.  So, when Kim presented the idea of giving it all up for a month-long paleo challenge, you can imagine that I was as excited about this as she is about spending an evening with a nice, fuzzy spider on her leg.  However, I have been wanting to lose some weight for a while though, so I agreed to give it a shot.  After a few tears, I went ahead and waved goodbye to my favorite treats, and said hello to my new friend Paleo.
I’m not gonna lie…..the first four days were tough.  I had cravings galore, fantasized about cold soda, cursed the unending thoughts of cheesy goodness of all kinds, and probably would have sold our cat for a pint of Racer 5 (actually, once the challenge is over, I’ll gladly trade you our cat for a couple of beers).  Oh, and the first two days, Kim was out-of-town, so I may have slacked off and made a few mistakes.  Or, to be more precise, I totally cheated. 
I had Cheetos, beer, soda, candy, and a donut…..okay, two donuts. I always eat a little worse when she is gone, but for some reason, knowing that I wasn’t supposed to eat this stuff made me want it even more.   Walking through the grocery store, I just didn’t care. I wanted junk, so I bought junk.  My self-control was gone, and I devoured anything in site.
I failed miserably at the start, but after getting it out of my system, week one actually has gone really well.  Cravings still exist, but are few and far between.  Now if I want something salty I turn to bacon or a few nuts, or for a sweet treat, a big apple hits the spot.  My belt is a little looser on my pants too, so I know a few pounds are melting away as well.  I’m not going to be a paleo nazi, but I really do want to do this right.  I’ll make a few intentional compromises along the way, but they will be the rare exception, rather than the rule.  I’ll keep you all posted on my progress….so stay tuned.
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

Leave a Reply

