Roasted Garlic Tomatoes


This week we’re house-sitting for my inlaws. It’s been glorious having AC on the hottest week of the year! This has allowed me to use the oven where as at our house, Tim might have thrown a bit of a fit. Outside, our inlaws have a huge tomato plants that has yielded tons of yummy fresh tomatoes.

Tomatoes are also a really healthy fruit (yup, fruit!).

Inspired by a post I saw for Roasted Tomato Basil Pesto (which I made last night and was not a huge fan of), I decided to share the best part of the recipe with you- the roasted part! You might want to save this project for later in the evening as it requires your oven to be on for about an hour and a half- yikes!

Roasted Garlic Tomatoes

Ingredients:

8-9 fresh tomatoes (heirloom would be incredible if you can afford it!)

Extra Virgin Olive Oil (I like to use my Misto to cut down on excess oil)

Garlic Powder, Fresh ground pepper and sea salt

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 400 and spray a baking sheet.

Wash and cut tomatoes lengthwise and remove stems. Place on the pan and spritz with olive oil. Then, sprinkle as much of the seasonings as you want!!

Bake for an hour and forty minutes, keeping a close eye for the last 10. Remove from heat and enjoy right then or use them to top pasta, chicken or fish! Yumm!!

Enjoy this delicious treat while you still can!!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

One thought on “Roasted Garlic Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: It’s Gettin’ Chili in Here! | Train Your Body- Change Your Life!

Leave a Reply

