Live the Life You’ve Imagined


I was 11 years old when I started baby-sitting. It all started with a love for the Baby-Sitters Club (the BSC) books that inspired my vision for having adventures in baby-sitting like my friends Claudia, Kristy, Stacey and Dawn. I have every BSC book ever written too! It is a prized possession that someday I will pass on to my daughters waaaaay in the future ;0)

By the time I was 13, I had my own phone line (624-KIMS!!) and answering machine since my parents got only a quarter of the messages that I did. I had business cards, flyers and my own bank account. I was bringing in close to $300/week all while being a middle schooler!! It’s not that I was amazing with children per say, but I knew how to run a business just like the BSC.

Here was my business plan:

-Always arrive 10 minutes early

-A firm handshake with new clients is crucial

-Be responsible and ask for phone numbers of where they will be and emergency contacts

Always be prepared (I had a Kid Kit that I brought with me stocked with fun stuff for kids)

-No tv, actually play with the children

-Leave it cleaner than you found it (Mom’s loved this one!)

Rules like this earned me about 35 clients over the span of 7 years and an amazing reputation. I watched kids grow up and felt like I sat for some so often that I took part in raising them. All this to say, I felt the entrepreneurial calling at a very young age.

However, 15 year olds don’t usually do well at owning a business, so off to retail I went.  And boy has that been a journey ranging from non-profit work to being a barista! I’ll spare you the boring list of jobs I have held, but if you would like to see my extensive resume, I will happily provide you a copy;0)

My last job has been at Cascade Athletic Clubs as a personal trainer. I learned more than I thought possible and have met some incredible people there. But, I keep thinking of that feeling I had at thirteen, knowing that I was in charge (just like Kristy, President of the BSC) and making things happen. I really missed having that land of possibility before me and seeing my dreams on the horizon. I am a person of passion and possibilities and felt the need to run with that,

Ugly Christmas Sweater day @ CAC

So, it is with great humility and boldness that I venture into the world of small business ownership. I have watched my husband do this for two years and now it my turn to join the club. My vision is simple, yet one of the hardest things to do: Eat right for your body type. I have heard hundreds of declarations of good intentions with little or no follow through. I myself have walked this road for 7 years and am still far from where I would like to be.

I desire to teach people how to transform their kitchens into mini paradises full of adventure and creativity (this coming from a woman who can’t follow a recipe very well!).  I want to show people how strong they are on the inside and the outside. I want to help people be free from pain caused by food allergies and sensitivities. I want people to look in the mirror and see changes in their bodies. I want to help people be free from food addictions and understand the emotional connection and dependence on food. I want to provide options for those who feel stuck. I want people to be excited to eat again!

Henry David Thoreau said, “Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you’ve imagined.”

Paul the apostle wrote to the church at Ephesus, “Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.” Ephesians 4:20 (my core verse for HFTY)

and probably my most favorite motivational quote ever….

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.  Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.  It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.  We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous?  Actually, who are you not to be?  You are a child of God.  Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.  We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.  It is not just in some of us: it’s in everyone.  And when we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.  As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”    -Nelson Mandela.

These are the things I seek as I step out into this new world. I have had a steady paycheck for the last 12 years…and now I am not certain if I will make any money at all. My fears are many yet my resolve is firm. My courage is strong and my passion great. Though at times I may fail and fall of my face, I will get back up and continue pursuing the dreams that I have been given.  If you’re the praying type, I would covet your prayers for confidence, safety and success.

Thank you for listening to all of my rambling ;0) I will return to our usual content tomorrow!

Have a wonderful Labor Day!

Yours in Health and Wellness,

Kim

www.healthyfoodstoyou.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

4 thoughts on “Live the Life You’ve Imagined

  1. Thank you for all of these amazing comments!

    Jeff Pressly I read this this morning and wow! Especially the scripture you quoted towards the end! Thank you Kim! You are amazing. That really spoke to my heart!
    Yesterday at 09:25 · Like.

    Angelica Djubenski Your light shines more & more through your blog every day. I feel privileged to see these pieces of you and know your business will succeed because you’re bringing your full self to it.
    Yesterday at 09:41 · Like.

    Bethany Brandt Kim, that was very touching…and I can relate to BSC!! You are really an amazing person, and God has given you an incredible gift to help people. It’s so awesome to see you running with it. I am excited to see what your future brings. Please keep in touch!

  2. I am confident that you will prove to be an incredible motivator for others to change their lives. Why? Because you model it. It isn’t just theory for you. You’ll become contagious to everyone around you. I look forward to seeing the “Here’s How Far I’ve Come In A Year Post.” You definitely “don’t play small.”

Leave a Reply

