Amazing Blueberry Muffins


Cravings are a very real part of life. Remember my PMS cookies?? Desparate times call for desparate measures and tonight was one of those nights. I have been craving a hearty, bountiful blueberry muffin all week long. The only successful muffin recipe I had was for Quinoa Blueberry Muffins and now that I am off of grains, that one doesn’t work for my diet.

So, as usual, I was purusing Google for some ideas when I stumbled across this gem of a recipe. I was so excited that at 10pm I jumped out of bed and rushed to the kitchen to see if these would be as glorious as I suspected. I was not to be let down!!!

And now, without further adu, I give you…..

Amazing Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:

2 eggs
1/3 cup honey (I used 1/3 cup Organic Apple Butter)
4 tablespoons melted butter (I used Smart Balance Light)
1 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon sea salt (I would use 1/4 teaspoon next time)
1 tablespoon lemon zest

2 1/2 cups almond flour
1/2 cup chopped pecans (I omitted, but would definitely add some crunch)
1 cup blueberries

Directions:

* Preheat oven to 325°F.  Place unbleached muffin cups in muffins pans or spray.

  • In a medium mixing bowl use either a whisk or electric mixer and combine the eggs, honey, butter, vanilla, baking soda, sea salt and lemon zest.
  • With a spatula fold in the almond flour, pecans and blueberries.
  • Batter will be very firm so you’ll need to use a spoon to evenly divide the batter amongst the 12 muffin cups. (I made 8 big muffins instead of 12)
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes.

These are delicious and GAPS friendly! I highly recommend these with a little dab of yogurt or Earth Balance. Best when warm.

(FYI, these little babies pack a serious caloric punch- the ones I made had 275 each!- and will keep you full forever)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

2 thoughts on “Amazing Blueberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

