Chocolate Cherry Cookies!


I went shopping with a Healthy Foods client this week at New Seasons Market. It was soo much fun! We explored the hot wok (I may or may not have eaten my whole box!!!) and wandered through the wonderful produce section! I also, for the VERY first time, bought beef! I asked the deli manager what would be 1) lean, 2) easy to cook (aka, something I couldn’t destroy beyond edibility) and 3) cost effective. He suggested the top round sirloin. I am so excited to cook this little guy! I also got some fresh chicken and a TON of veggies! I also picked up some organic Ranier Cherries….which feature in todays recipe!!!

Chocolate Cherry Cookies (Grain Free, Dairy Free, Sugar Free)

Adapted from Organic Thrifty

2.5 cups of almond flour (I made mine by grinding up almonds)
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp baking soda

2 eggs (or you could do flax/chia egg to make it Vegan)
3 packets Truvia (or stevia, or 2 Tablespoons honey/agavae would work)
1/3 cup melted Earth Balance (or butter)
1/2 cup pitted, fresh cherries
1/4 cup 73% dark chocolate chips (I used 1/2 square unsweetened Bakers Chocolate)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or spray.

In a medium bowl, mix together dry ingredients.

In a separate bowl, whisk eggs until combined. Add melted Earth Balance and sweetener.

Combine wet and dry ingredients.

Fold in cherries and chocolate.

Drop about 1/4 cup at a time of dough onto prepared baking sheets.

Bake for 15 minutes.

These turned out really well!! I love the mild sweetness and little bursts from the cherries. The dark chocolate satisfies my cravings so I didn’t over indulge (which, I confess, I have been doing a lot of lately). These are fabulous!

Happy Baking!

Kim

PS. If you haven’t entered the Clean Eating Magazine Contest yet, check it out here!

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Cherry Cookies!

  1. I’m going to make these tonight–I’ve been craving something like this for a while but everything’s too unhealthy for my taste. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

