Guest Post!!! Katherine's Walnut Fig Bread!


Today, I am so excited to have Katherine as a guest poster! Her blog, Katshealthcorner, is so awesome! She has some great recipes, one of which she was kind enough to share!

Hey Train Your Body-Change Your Life Followers!

My name is Kathleen, and I blog over at KatsHealthCorner.

I am so excited to be here with you guys. Kim is such an amazing person – and her blog is just as amazing as she is!

In my life I strive for balance: Balance with myself, Balance in my life, and Balance with Food.

One of my favorite foods is Figs (you know, those things they puree and smack in the middle of Fig Newtons).

Figs are nutrition powerhouses! They are high in Vitamins B1 and B2, Calcium, Phosphorus, Iron, Manganese, Potassium, and Fiber! And just like dried apricots and dates, they help keep you regular! J

We have a fig tree right outside our front door (literally! You can see it here), and it suddenly decided to grow lots of fruit and have them ripen all at the same time.

My mom and I both used figs this past week.

My mom made Jam.

Lots of it.

And what did I make?

I MADE FIG WALNUT BREAD!

Fig Walnut Bread

NOTE: Not only is it VEGAN, WHOLE GRAIN, OMEGA-rich, and DAIRY FREE, but it is of course absolutely nutritious! J To up the protein even more, replace 1/2 – 3/4 cup of the flour with unflavored protein powder (I’d up the liquid a little bit too if using the protein powder). Based on an old Vegetarian Times’ recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ cup water *see substitution option below
  • 1 cup chopped dried figs
  • 4 oz tofu
  • ¼ cup applesauce
  • 2 Tbsp agave, honey, or maple syrup
  • 2 Tbsp oil
  • 1 ¾ cup flour (I used whole wheat) *see note above
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp ginger
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp cloves
  • 2/3 cups chopped walnuts, lightly toasted

Directions

Boil the water and pour over the figs.

Let them stand until the water is lukewarm (the water should also change in color to a rich dark red).

Drain the figs well, saving the liquid.

Blend the tofu and reserved liquid in a blender until smooth. Add the applesauce, honey, and oil and pulse until combined.

Pour tofu mixture into a bowl and stir in figs.

In a separate bowl, stir together the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon, and cloves.

Add the wet mixture to the dry and stir until just combined (don’t overmix).

Fold in walnuts.

Immediately pour batter into a sprayed 9×5 baking pan

and cook about 50-55 minutes at 325 degrees F, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Let cool 10-15 minutes in the pan and then transfer to a cooling rack until completely cool (it slices better after cooling).

DEVOUR!

If you want a sweeter bread, simply replace the water with apple juice! 🙂

So delicious! And so nutritious!

Do you like Figs?

Do you like to Bake? Cook?

What would you consider a Balanced Diet?

14 thoughts on “Guest Post!!! Katherine's Walnut Fig Bread!

  1. Pingback: Fig Walnut Bread! « katshealthcorner

  2. Never tried figs before-dried or fresh 😦 Sad I know! And quick question for Kat-did you put fig jam on your fig bread?

  3. What an amazing recipe! I love figs – in jam, dried, in cakes, plain..they are so tasty!
    I love baking, it is such a therapy for me:)
    Balanced diet is a diet that leaves me healthy, happy, satisfied..

  4. This recipe sounds so good!
    I love figs, both fresh and dried. I have made some AMAZING chocolate-fig fudges in the past. They are super healthy ( no sweetner besides the figs), and so rich and good! This remindes me I have to make them again 😛

Leave a Reply

