O WOW…..Blueberry Banana Bars


It’s nine pm. I just got home from being at work all day (literally) long. I started early with some great client meetings. Next up was a killer interval session on the elliptical. 30 second all out (I’m talking 90% of my max heart rate) then 60 seconds to recover. After 23 minutes, I was done for!

Next up was a 30 minute session with my new Nike Training Club app. It has kicked my butt every time!!

After that I made a mad dash to Freddy’s for some Pure Protein bars for the hike tomorrow. Mt. Defiance twice in 5 days…we’ll see how this goes!!

Then it was off to East Gresham for some awesome training time with some of my favorite clients! My fave workout of the night was all track work that included: a bear crawl, crab walk, duck walk, weighted inchworms and weighted walking lunges. Both clients were pooped and dripping sweat (you know who you are!). It’s amazing what just your body weight can do to you!

Anyways, now I am home and looking for a bar for tomorrow for breakfast. I am getting tired of egg whites and spinach. I was looking and looking until I stumbled upon this amazing looking recipe. Low and behold, it is AMAZING!!! Probably one of the best breakfast bars ever!!! It’s grain free which is what I am doing (that’s right- NO GRAINS!!!). You must try these to believe them!

Blueberry Banana Bars

Adapted from Riddlelove

1/2 the recipe makes 8 bars, which is what I did (not enough almonds)

Ingredients:

3 cups almond flour (I ground almonds in the Bullet)

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

2 Tablespoons olive oil

3 eggs (I ppted to use 1 egg and 2 egg whites for the half recipe)

4-5 ripe bananas, mashed (I used one)

2 cups frozen blueberries (I would go heavier on the berries next time)

3 packets Truvia

2 Tablespoons Chia Seeds

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease the bottom and sides of a 9×13-inch glass pan.

Combine almond flour, salt, and baking soda. In a separate bowl, whisk together the oil and eggs. Beat wet and dry mixes along with the bananas very throughly to give the eggs good beating (it sounds harsh, I know, but the key to fluffy, grain-free baked goods is thoroughly beating the eggs).

Place batter in prepared pan and sprinkle blueberries on top.

Bake for about 40 minutes, or until the edges are brown and a toothpick stuck into the center of the dish comes out clean. Let bars cool for about 30 minutes, then serve. (Or if you can’t wait, just try not to burn your mouth!)

Tim’s approval….

My “Can’t Believe I Found the Perfect Bar Recipe!!!” face.

I may or may not have yelled at Tim for eating my bars….Sorry hubs!

3 thoughts on “O WOW…..Blueberry Banana Bars

  1. Pingback: Grain Free Goodness | Train Your Body- Change Your Life!

Leave a Reply

