Oh My Word Power Bars!


It was a great day today! I had a full schedule at work and had some wonderfully inspiring conversations that moved me. Tim came up for a sweet workout (he ran, I used my new Nike Training Club app- kicked my rear!). Then we strolled in the sun over to Whole Foods for a yummy salad (hurray for my growing love of kale!) I also got these sweet samples of Greens Organic Superfood mix. Going to give it a try before hiking tomorrow.

Plus, this arrived in the mail too!!!

I love bars. I have spent a lot of time and energy looking into different kinds of bars and trying to figure out which ones work best. This can be challenging when you’re hiking as a lot of the Cliff bars have over 30 grams of sugar!

So, I started looking at recipes for lower carb, lower glycemic load bars and man did I hit the jackpot!

 Oh My Word Bars

Makes 12-14 bars

Ingredients:

8 oz of shredded sweet potatoes

1/2 cup grated carrots or apple ( I used pureed prunes to make it “Blood Type Friendly”)

1/4 tsp nutmeg*

1/4 tsp clove*

1 tbsp ground cinnamon*

1 egg (I used 1/4 cup egg whites)

3 scoops protein powder

2 tsp baking soda

Sweetner ( I used 2 packets of Truvia)

1 tsp vanilla extract (Optional- I left it out and they were great!)

*- You can also use 1 Tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice  ( I didn’t use any)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Spray either muffin tins or glass cake pan ( I used an 8×8) and set aside. Mix all ingredients into large mixing bowl. Stir until combined. Pour into greased baking pan. Bake for 20 minutes and check to see if middle is set or a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool for at least 5 minutes before cutting.

These have a fluffy,spongey consistency that we like, but do have the protein powder after taste. However, they are one of the better ones, so I think I will stick with them for a while. And, the longer they cool, the more dense they become and I think they taste better than fresh out of the oven. think I might try some sort of Greek yogurt topping for them next time. My next concoction is in the oven as we speak….check back soon!

Kim

7 thoughts on “Oh My Word Power Bars!

  1. Pingback: Grain Free Goodness | Train Your Body- Change Your Life!

  2. Pingback: Camping Morpholgy: From food to REAL FOOD

Leave a Reply

