Third Time’s a Charm


Today was my third attempt to summit Table Mountain. The first time was with Erica, Anj and Emily.

 By the time we found our way and made it to the boulder field, we were too tired to keep going!

The second time was with Heather. The snow was so deep we could only glimpse the stupid boulder field.

I decided that today would be the day! I was going to master the boulder field and summit! So, I left @ 7 and headed for Bonneville Hotsprings (to park, not to visit, unfortunately!). It was GORGEOUS out.

I made great time through the flat trail and PCT. Gorgeous scenery everywhere- and LOTS of mud and bugs!

When I got to the Heartbreak Ridge Trail, things started getting tough. I love my Merrell hiking shoes, but they do not do well with wet slippery rock. I was pooped by the time I got to the top of the switchbacks. The summit seemed farther than I thought and I still had the boulder field to contend with!

The last time I was here, it looked like this!

Now, it looks like this!

Next up, the boulder field. I bear crawled up that bad boy with no problem!! Finally, my fear defeated!

Getting to the summit wasn’t too bad after that. It was such a beautiful day. I camped out and ate my sandwich before heading down the dumbest descents ever.

Now the hard part, which I was not expecting. The descent was steep with crumbly loose rock, dust and BUGS!! It was pretty darn aweful ! I was sooo glad to make it down!!

So, 5 and a half hours later, I was back at my car. It was a great day for a hike and I am sooo excited to have conquered one of my fears!!

Happy Overcoming!

Kim

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

Leave a Reply

