Bombin’ Blueberry Quinoa Muffins


Did I mention that I ❤ quinoa?? I remember this one time that I went nutso and made like 5 different quinoa recipes. Poor Tim! He had to suffer through the madness! Well, one of the ones that I really liked was the Blueberry Quinoa Muffins. They have a slightly crunchy texture due to the quinoa, which I found to be fun and unique. Give it a shot! These are awesome for breakfast or a post-workout treat!

Bombin’ Blueberry Quinoa Muffins

Recipe adapted from PecanSandy

Ingredients:

1 cup quinoa, rinsed (just run the quinoa in a strainer under some water to get rid of some of the starch)

1/4 olive oil

2 cups of spelt/whole wheat/oat flour

3/4 cup lightly packed brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup soy/almond/2% milk

1 large egg (or 2 egg whites or Chia/Flax egg)

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 cup blueberries (You could also use whatever you want in your muffins!)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tins with paper cups.

In a medium saucepan bring quinoa and 1 cup of water to boil. Cover and simmer until the water has been absorbed. 11-13 minutes.

Whisker together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.

In another bowl whisk oil, milk, egg, and vanilla.

Add quinoa to dry ingredients and then add oil mixture. Stir well.

Fold in blueberries.

Fill each tin about halfway with batter. Bake for 25-30 minutes until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Happy Baking!

Kim

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

5 thoughts on “Bombin’ Blueberry Quinoa Muffins

  1. Pingback: Amazing Blueberry Muffins | Train Your Body- Change Your Life!

Leave a Reply

