Ode to Anji


So, my best friend is moving to New York. This is quite possibly one of the best things that could ever have happened to her and one of the saddest for me. Anj and I met @ Multnomah Bible College in 2004. We weren’t really friends and didn’t really hang out unless it was with our mutual friend, Sherri Taylor. In 2007, Sherri, Anj, Kristen and I all moved into an apartment in Clackamas. We had some great times watching four seasons of Lost, trying not to drink during school and trying to survive in the real world.

After almost a year, Kristen headed south and Sherri north. That left Anji and I. So, we decided to stick it out together and find an apartment. We landed a sweet set up on 22nd and Davis downtown. This was one of the coolest things ever!! We got snowed in for a week, walked everywhere, lived @ Goodwill on Burnside (probably the best one in Portland), snuck into Elephants late at night (everything fresh is half off after 7!), watched movies, walked in the park- everything! It was an amazing time of finding churches, home and falling in love (that was me, btw). Anj was there through my tummy troubles, running issues, dating drama and glory, roadtrips, job changes- you name it, she was there.

After a year of  living downtown, Tim proposed and it was time for us to part ways as roommates. This was bittersweet since I knew this would change our relationship. However, ever faithful and loyal Anji wouldn’t let that happen. She has always made the effort to meet me for lunch, spend the night on weekends, come over for lunch or spend hours in Whole Foods drooling over the salad bar. 

I have seen her go from a shy, chubby young lady to a confident, outgoing, gorgeous, healthy woman who loves her God and His people (especially the troubled teens which boggles my mind, but hey, more jewels for your crown Anj!). She is dedicated to her relationship with Him, her friendships with others and strives to better herself to be more like Christ every day, even when it’s hard (and when is it not!?) She is funny, intelligent, capable, strong willed, growing and my best friend, my maid of honor and my sister.

Anj, I have know idea what I will do without you, but know that I am going to be praying for you everyday (sometimes maybe even twice a day), sending you care packages and always here when you need me. You are my best friend and I couldn’t have ever asked for anyone better than you. Thank you for being there the last 5 years. Good luck on your new journey- I know you will do amazing! Lean on Him for all your strength, compassion and understanding. I love you friend!

Kim 

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

3 thoughts on “Ode to Anji

  1. how does this make me cry and i’m not even Anj?! You ladies have a beautiful relationship. You are loved, and will be missed, Anj!

Leave a Reply

