Asparagus and Daikon Salad


Today was a great day! I went hiking with Bob and Heather (and Winston!). We did Larch Mtn in 6.5 hours!

I had to stop and stretch on a rock. The moss made it nice and soft!

It was a great hike, even though the summit was fogged in. Winston did a great job too!

 Thanks guys for an awesome hike!

When I got home, it was all business. Into the kitchen I went to find a recipe for Daikon. And boy, did I thanks to Angela Liddon of Osheglows.com

Asparagus and Daikon Salad

Adapted from Ohsheglows

Ingredients:

10 asparagus stalks, cut into 1 inch pieces

2 daikons, washed, peeled and cut into circles

Dressing:

1 T olive oil

1/4 c. lemon juice

1 t. garlic powder

1 t. sea salt

1/2 t. ground pepper

1.5 T. mustard

1 T. water

1/2 t. maple syrup (to balance out mustard)

1/2 T. nutritional yeast (optional)

2 T. fresh chives

2 T. fresh dill

1 bunch green onions

1/2 c. edamame

Directions:

Place veggies into steamer basket and steam for 5 five minutes, until you can put a fork through them.

 In the meantime, mix all dressing ingredients into large bowl.

 Add steamed veggies and mix to coat. Serve warm or cold.

The Daikon gives off a slight bitter taste which I enjoy. I am excited to try roasting these!! Let me know what you think!

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

Leave a Reply

