Veggie Venture


Anji, Tim and I all biked to New Seasons this afternoon in the glorious 75 degree weather. For most Portlanders, today was a gift!
 We have suffered the longest winter EVER!!! So, days like this are to be taken full advantage of! Lunch at New Seasons consisted of Carrot and Kale Salad, Shanghai Tofu and Asian Slaw. DELICIOUS!!! Then we headed over to Peet’s for a little iced coffee magic.

After soaking up some Vitamin D, Tim and I headed back to New Seasons for some serious veggie ventures. Let me explain. This morning, I got to do a Bod Pod test which tests your weight, body fat percentage and your resting metabolic rate (how many calories you burn at rest). It was awesome!! I had to put on a hair net and cap too! So, I am going to be brave and show you my results (eek!). I feel great about where I am, although I know I can do a little better if I cut out some of my carbs in the evening (fruit is my guilty pleasure!!). Here we go:

Tada! So, in light of these results and in my earnest desire to live as healthily (is that a word??) I decided to celebrate by treating myself to some new veggies! Here is what we found:

We got Diakon, Bok Choy, Leeks, Kale and Apricots!!! Yum or what! (PS, if you had asked me that three years ago, I would have said Y-U-C-K!)

So, this week is now dubbed Veggie Venture Week! Each day, I will go through one of the veggies above and share a new recipe for that veggie! It’s going to be great! Even Tim agrees!

Ok, maybe not so much, but it will be my task to wow him with the wonder of veggies!

Check back tomorrow for Daikon Day!

Happy Day!

Kim

One thought on “Veggie Venture

  1. Pingback: Bring it on ME!! | Train Your Body- Change Your Life!

Leave a Reply

