Wheat Berry Salad


I went grocery shopping last night and was sooo excited to see bell peppers on sale- finally! I picked up lots of colors and was browsing the web to see what fun recipes I could find to use peppers and wheat berries. I was pleasantly surprised to see this recipe on Alive Magazine website !  It is sooo delicious!!

Wheat Berry Salad

Adapted from Alive Magazine

Ingredients:

1 c. dry wheat berries, soaked over night

1 large tomato, chopped

1 cucumber, chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 red pepper, chopped

1 avocado, chopped

1 c. cilantro, stems cut and chopped

4 green onions, chopped

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

Dressing:

2 Tbs. olive oil

2 Tbs. balsamic vinegar

1 tsp. mustard

1 Tbs.  low sodium soy sauce

In medium bowl soak wheat berries overnight in cold water. Drain wheat berries and place in saucepan; cover with 2 in cold water. Bring to boil; reduce heat to low and simmer, partially covered, about 1 hour. Drain and cool.

In large bowl, combine cooled wheat berries with beans, cucumber, red pepper, tomato, avocado, green onion, garlic, and parsley; season with salt and pepper to taste.

In small bowl make dressing by whisking together olive oil, vinegar, soy sauce, lemon juice, and hot mustard until well combined.

Toss salad with dressing just before serving. Serves 6.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

Leave a Reply

