Exercise of the Week


I looove working out. It’s as simple as that. I love being intense and focused. Circuit training is one of my favorite ways to do that. 4 exercises + 20  minutes at a grueling pace= Kim’s happy place. So, I decided that I wanted to share some of my favorite circuit exercises with you!

Here’s one of my more recent faves:

The Lunge and Lift

Works: Glutes, legs, shoulders and if you draw in, the core.

Equipment: 1 sliding disk (or paper plate), 1 small kettlebell or dumbbell

The Move: Start with your right foot on top of the disk, feet side by side, kettlebell in the left hand.

Slowly slide your right leg back until you drop into a deep lung with your back leg nice and straight, front knee safely behind your front toes. As you push back, raise your right arm to shoulder height.

As you contract your glutes to slide your right leg back, slowly lower your arm. Repeat 12 times on each side.

This works the whole body by increasing heart rate which enables you to burn more calories rather than working on muscle group at a time. Brilliant!!!

Happy Sliding!

Kim

This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , , , , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

Leave a Reply

