Ode to a new cutting board (and a recipe too!)


My husband is amazing. We were strolling through Pier 1 yesterday browsing for Mother’s Day gifts when Tim called me over from the kitchen ware portion of the store (I was over oogling picture frames). With a big Tim grin, he holds up a piece of glass with the words “Chop Chop” on it. It’s a glass cutting board that looks like a chalkboard!! (Hey, it’s the little things in life). Seeing as how it was 50% off andrationalizing that someday I would be a mother (maybe), we decided it would be a lovely little addition to the kitchen.

Last night, I used it to make Turkey Sweet Potato Enchiladas and to chop up some dark chocolate for some Cashew Cookie Dough Balls.

I must say, despite the louder noise that comes from steel hitting glass, I am rather fond of it! So, this morning I decided to (quietly, as everyone was still asleep) chop up some veggies for a delicious quiche.

Asparagus Feta Quiche

Serves 4

Ingredients:

4  whole wheat tortillas (7″ size)

1/2 red onion, chopped

1 head broccoli, chopped

5-10 stalks asparagus, cut into 1″ in pieces

2 small roma tomatoes

1 T olive oil

4 eggs (2 eggs, 2 egg whites)

1/2 c. plain non/low fat yogurt

1/3 c. feta cheese (or more if you want)

salt and pepper to taste (I added in a t. of thyme)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375°. In a greased 9-inch pie plate, overlap the tortillas to make a crust; place on a rimmed baking sheet. Meanwhile, fill a large nonstick skillet a third of the way with salted water; bring to a boil. Add the asparagus and broccoli and cook until crisp-tender, about 1 minute; drain, rinse under cold water and pat dry.

Wipe out the skillet, add the olive oil and heat over medium-high heat. Add the onion and tomatoes, season with salt and pepper and cook about 3 minutes. Stir in the asparagus and broccoli; season with salt and pepper. Spread evenly in the tortilla crust, then crumble the cheese on top.

In a small bowl, whisk together the eggs and yogurt and season with salt and pepper; pour into the tortilla crust. Bake on the baking sheet until just set in the center and lightly golden, about 30 minutes. Let rest for about 10 minutes before serving.

Happy Mother’s Day! Kim

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

Leave a Reply

