Tuna Mango Magic


I never used to like tuna.It smelled funny and was always drenched in mayo (ewww!!!) However, now that I have “grown up” a bit and expanded my foodie horizons, I have discovered the oh-so-versital world of canned tuna. Disclaimer: Some health enthusiasts would caution against tuna because of mercury levels found in some. I think it’s up to you, it is a staple in my pantry!!

Since I don’t get home until well after 8 pm, I need something that is quick, protein packed and yummy! I found that this combo, which at first sounds strange, is strangely comforting and filling.

Tuna Mango Magic

Ingredients:

1/4 cup black beans, rinsed (or chickpeas like in the photo)

1/2 cup mango salsa (or any kind of salsa, I just like a hint of sweet!)

1 can tuna in water, drained

Directions:

Add all three ingredients in a microwave safe bowl (not plastic) and mix gently. Heat in microwave for about 90 seconds. Stir and enjoy!!!

Variations:

On a bed of spinach (see above)

In a whole wheat, low carb tortilla

On a slice of Ezekial Bread open faced

On a piece of Boston or Romaine lettuce (think lettuce wraps)

Or just straight out’ the bowl!

Toppings:

Should you desire a little extra somethin’ on there, here’s some ideas:

Feta Cheese

Sour Cream

Green onions

Shallots

Grated Cheese

Avocado -oh so delicious!!!

Let me know what you think!!!

Happy Munching!

Kim

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

Leave a Reply

