Dinner Plate Diagram Dilemma


A lot of people have been asking me lately what to do for dinner. That can be a tough thing to think about if you have been working all day or don’t get home until late, like me! I think one tip right off the bat to help stave off that pre-dinner hunger pang is to eat your snacks! Having a snack in between Breakfast/Lunch and lunch/Dinner will help stabilize your blood sugar and keep your hunger hormone Grehlin at bay.

The trick is this: Divide your plate into three sections (if you really want to work on portion control, use a salad plate)

1) Vegetables- These should be non-starchy vegetables (limit squash and sweet potatoes) that are multicolored!! The more color on your plate, the better!! This should take up half of your plate. Keep your dressings on the side and stick with a vinagarette.

2) Protein is your next section. This can range from chicken, turkey, pork, fish or even grass fed beef. This should be 1/4-2/3 of your meal and the main ingredient that is going to help you feel fuller longer!!

3) Starchy carbohydrates- this is the smallest portion where grains and fruits come into play. Try grains such as quinoa (keen-wah), barley, Wheat /berry, millet, cous cous and brown rice. At night, your body doesn’t need any more sugars from starches so if you can avoid it, I think you will notice a huge difference!

I hope this helps give you some ideas and some new things to think about. Stay tuned for more dinner ideas and recipes headed your way!!!

Happy Portioning,

Kim

This entry was posted in Nutrition, Thoughts and tagged , , , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

2 thoughts on “Dinner Plate Diagram Dilemma

Leave a Reply

