Breakfast To Go…


How many of you skip breakfast because you simply don’t have time in the morning?? What if I offered you a solution that will not only make mornings easier, but help you rev up your metabolism too??

Enter breakfast cereal to go. I am not talking about sugary cereals or something that will leave you hungry an hour later. I am talking whole grain goodness here!!

There are many types of grains that you can use to make a good hot breakfast. Some of my favorites are:

-Pearled Barley

-Quinoa 

-Multigrain Oats

-Steel Cut Oats (aka Irish Oatmeal)

-Wheat Berries

-Regular Oats

What I do is Sunday night, I pull out my sauce pan and get water boiling. I cook about 4 servings worth of grains and cook it. After it is done, I put it into 4 containers and add my toppings! Some of my favorite combos include:

-Lemon Poppyseed (poppyseeds, ground flax seed, fresh lemon juice, and walnuts)

– Cranberry Bliss (cranberries, slivered almonds, ground flax and cinnamon)

– Pumpkin Pie- (canned pumpkin, flax seed, pepitas, pumpkin pie spice)

– PB&J- (Chunky peanut butter, stawberries, flax)

– Apple Pie- (Apples, cinnamon, flax seed, pecans)

 – Cinnamon Raisin Swirl-( Raisins, cinnamon, vanilla)

So, as you can see, you can make breakfast for the whole week in less than an hour!

So, give it a try and see what fun creations you can come up with!

Happy Cooking!

Kim

This entry was posted in Nutrition, Recipes, Thoughts and tagged , , , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

6 thoughts on “Breakfast To Go…

  1. Hey Kim,
    I like this! I am going to go shopping tonite and see what concoctions i can create for my breakfasts. I need to eat more in the morning as you know. Then maybe I can stop drinking coffee which is my way of feeling full in the AM.

Leave a Reply

