Whole Foods, a Little Bit of Heaven on Earth!


I first stumbled upon the glory that is Whole Foods Market about two years ago when I was living with Anj downtown. Right off of Burnside in the Pearl District resides this most magical of place of Organic wonders. Every time I step inside, my heart beats wildly as I speed walk through the aisles to obtain as many samples as I can (PS, I heart Sample Saturday!) while making my way to my most favorite amenity- the Salad Bar.

It is here where the real fun begins! Every WF has a slightly different offering of goodies to top your mountain of greens. Recently, at the WF in Sacramento, I discovered that they had salmon!! Needless to say, my salad was in the double didgets- oops! Anyways, you select your greens and all the delicious toppings you can afford (@ $7.99/lb, one must be somewhat cautious). It is in this bountiful buffet that I have tried some of the most incredible things such as sunchokes, beets, every kind of tofu, edamame, sprouts, plaintains….the list goes on and on! I always think of my parents, who always tried to get me to eat salad,and how proud they would be now!!

  I love how fresh and amazing everything is! The fruit tastes like candy, the veggies are fresh and crunchy, the whole grains abound and their bulk section beats out any other. My recent bulk discovery is the maple syrup…that’s right, bulk maple syrup! No more spending oodles for this awesome amber liquid….now you can buy as needed! Tim and I also enjoy their trail mix selection, although, after devouring a bag in one sitting, we found it appropriate to limit this purchase to times when we are in desperate need only.

Anyways, I just wanted to share with you the happiness I have found just down the freeway (we go to the Hollywood District location- superb!). If you ever feel like reviving your foodie soul, head to Whole Foods where I am positive you will be amazed.

Happy Shopping!

Kim

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

Leave a Reply

