Bikram Yoga- Get Your Sweat On!


105 degrees. Lots of sweaty bodies. Soaked towels. Bright lights. Loud breathing. Grunts…this is Bikram Yoga. In my three experiences with taking Bikram, I have been delighted to learn a lot about myself. Here are some things I have learned while sweating more than I ever have in any other exercise:
1). I really don’t like sweating that much.
2). I don’t breathe deep enough. When was the last time you took a nice long lung filling breath and intentionally forced all the negative air out?? (Just did…:0)
3). I am more flexible than I thought! I think sometimes people think they are not flexible when really, it’s a matter of patience and confidence. I have gotten into poses that I never thought I could!! Hello squatting on my toes!
4). I am a lot more self-conscious than I thought. Watching yourself move, breath, grunt, struggle and sweat for 90 minutes in only a sports bra and shorts can be very challenging. I found that I have the tendency to compare myself to everyone around me. Do you do that ever?
5). I don’t like being in 105 degree heat for that long!!
In case you were wanting to venture into the world of the sweaty, here are a few health benefits of the Bikram practice:
  • Release toxins
  • Improve flexibility and range of motion
  • Increase the chances of weight loss
  • Develop muscle tone
  • Improve mental clarity
  • If anything, you’ll burn some 300 calories for stretching!! Give it a shot! Most studios have a drop in fee ranging from $5-$10.
  • Happy grunting and sweating!
  • Kim
  • Advertisements
    This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

    About Trainer Kim

    I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

    Leave a Reply

    