Aqua Power and Lessons Learned….


I teach aqua aerobics. It has more dignity than it sounds, but sometimes when I say it, a little giggle escapes my lips. If you had asked me five years ago if I would ever be a water aerobics instructor, I might have laughed you. Now, 2 days a week, I proudly tote my radio and water bottle into the steamy pool area and entertain scores of seniors through various routines. It’s in these 45 minute classes that I learn valuable things about myself and others:

1) No matter how old you get, it is NOT ok to wear a see through swimsuit. JK, I learn that the older you get the more comfortable with yourself you become.

2) A simple smile can make someones day (this has gone both ways)

3) It’s ok to make mistakes (ie: tripping over the floor mat, breaking the stereo, hitting someone with a noodle (not my fault, btw!) and being able to laugh at yourself.

4) Teaching water aerobics in a 100 degree sauna has prepared me well for Bikram yoga, lol. It has also given me a lot of respect for my body and how great it feels to be able to MOVE and exercise (even with the more elderly!)

5) It has given me a respect for those who come and work hard, despite their injuries or limitations. It shows me that no matter what obstacle I come upon, that I too can conquer.

6) Lastly, it has taught me to laugh at myself. Yes, I know I look like a dork swinging my arms and noodles all over the place, hoping, jumping yelling. I would like to see you try and pull it off as well as I do!!

Anyways, all this to say, no matter what you do, whether it be exercise or being at work or play, take time to learn from your experiences and from those around you. Life is too short to miss a single moment.

Yours in health and longevity,

Kim

This entry was posted in Exercise, Thoughts and tagged , , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

Leave a Reply

