Get Fit for 2011


Hey Friends! Welcome back (ok, so that’s more for me) from the craziness of Christmas and nuttiness of New Years. It’s time to get back on track, whatever that may look like for you. Getting into a routine can be tough at first, but give it at least 21 days and it will be as easy as brushing your teeth (maybe not flossing, but certainly scrubbing). That goes for me too. Here are some things I am doing to establish a routine and get back on track. Please take a look and see if  there is anything you would like more info about or to jump in on!!

Firstly, Cascade Athletic Club is super excited to have some great opportunities to help members and nonmembers get into shape and try some new things (thus, a couple of sub sections):

        A) Team Cascade. Team Cascade is a group of people who train together and run races that give money to charities and good causes. We do this to promote health and fitness, to have FUN and to challenge ourselves and those around us. It started with the Jingle Bell run in December, then First Run on New Years Day and next up we have our Cascade 205 Fun run/walk 5k and pancake feed with the Shamrock Run the next day. I will be posting more about Team Cascade in future blogs, but feel free to email if you have questions.

         B) The Pound for Pound Challenge. If you’re a Biggest Loser fan, you have probably heard Alison Sweeney talk about this a number of times. You log onto pfpchallenge.com and register to lose x number of pounds (or to maintain current weight). For every pound you pledge to lose, they will donate money to the food bank nearest you. What an awesome way to help those who are hungry and to motivate yourself!! Log on today and join Cascade’s PFPC on Facebook!

       C) Group training is coming up soon @ all Cascade locations. I will be leading a group called Burn It Up which is an hour of heart pumping, fat burning plyometrics, or jump training. For more info, stop in the club and check out our info posters or better yet, come ask me!!

2) I have been trying to challenge myself to be consistent with tracking what I am eating. Diet is 80% of weight loss success and necessary to health and wellness. I track @ Livestrong.com and would be happy to be anyones accountability partner for keeping track of nutrients, calories and water intake. Give it a shot- try something new!!

3) I am going through Jillian Michael’s book “Making the Cut”. It is awesome!! 30 days of workouts designed to help you lose the last 5-10 pounds hanging around your middle.

4) I am committing to a year of better eating  by subscribing (thanks to my wonderful Mother in Law, Cindy) to Clean Eating magazine. There has been nothing like this in my life that has given me such a new perspective on food and how it affects my body!! I love being able to eat whole, unprocessed foods that fill me up and give me all the hormonally balancing energy I need to get through the day!! Be on the look out for a cookbook put together by BTS instructor Selena Moffitt (Who also has an amazing blog called 1momsmission.com)  and in the next couple of months with lots of recipes like Clean Eating to help you and your family stay slim and healthy this  year.

Whew!! That’s a lot of catching up!! I want to hear what you are planning to do to form some good habits this year! Email or Facebook me your plans and I would love to share them on this blog to help inspire and encourage others.

Until tomorrow…Sleep well dear friends!

Kim

This entry was posted in Exercise, Thoughts by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

Leave a Reply

