P90X…. To Do, or Not To Do???


A friend of mine recently sent me an email asking my oppinion on the DVD series P90X. It has become very popular for a reason- it gets results. If you are consistent and do their diet plan, you will get ripped (if you don’t hurt yourself first). Here is my response to her and others who are curious about this intensity fad:
“Hey! I have seen P90x and have friends who swear by it. It works because it is intense- VERY intense. I won’t do it because the maintenance to keep your new “physique” is sooo hard! It’s not just 90 days, you have to maintain the insane intensity, or you will loose it all. It is also dangerous. You could wind up spending more money on a chiropractor than you did on the dvds.
If you can’t afford a trainer (which I always recommend for personalized, safe and effective routines), then I would try Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred DVD. It worked REALLY well for me and I have easily been able to maintain my results (woo hoo flat tummy!). It has 3 levels and gets harder as you go, progression is the key. She also has a killer book called Making the Cut- awesome (safe) workouts that will challenge you along with great meal plans and recipes. Her dvd’s are my FAVE! I am a huge Jillian fan. She also has a great cookbook called Mastering Your Metabolism Cookbook which I use weekly.
Truthfully, 80% of it is diet. 20% is working out. You could work out forever, but if your diet isn’t spot on, you will not achieve the results you slave for in the gym.”
This is just my oppinion, but I think your money could be spent on more efficient and effective maintainable weight loss and toning modalities.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Thoughts and tagged , , by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

Leave a Reply

