Hello world!


Welcome fitness fanatics (or fanatic wannabes) to the pilot entry of my world of
training wisdom, or attempt to convey that wisdom. I love to blog and figure this is
a great way to share the wealth and joy of physical fitness with those who are
looking for some “insider tips”.

Upon finding out that I am a personal trainer, I am immediately either told a life
story or asked how to get rid of the dreaded under arm fat appropriately named
“teachers arm”. I then get to have wonderful and fulfilling conversations about
health, wellness, fitness and all that I am passionate about. Now let’s be clear- I
am not saying I know everything or that everything I say is 100% accurate as fitness
is like the sea: constantly changing with each new tide bringing in a new idea about
fad diets, weights vs body weight and so on. I promise you that everything I do say
will be 100% researched and up to date as much as I am able to.

I welcome and covet your questions, comments, concerns and stories.

Here we go!

7/28/2010

Nails and Needs

Today for Sarah’s birthday, some gal pals and I trotted downtown for delicious fare
at Whole Foods and nails @ the Aveda Institute. As my “student” and I were chatting,
we came upon the topic of my profession. Finding out that I was a trainer, she

@ Aveda getting nails done

immediately began telling me her story of how she wanted to loose weight but didn’t
really have time to cook or eat a lot. She used to be thin, but had gained weight
during her year at Aveda.

I think a lot of us get busy and so it is easier to just have 3 meals a day.
However, your metabolism (body’s ability to burn fat) is not particularly fond of
trying to process a huge meal and then figure out what to do with it. You end up
feeling groggy and lethargic with drops (or crashes in some cases) in your energy
along with feeling full and bloated. Solution: Mini Meals! Not happy meals from
McDonalds, but mini meals that are comprised of protein, carbs and fats. Example:
apple + peanut butter = perfection!! Your body will sing when you begin to level out
your metabolism and incorporate whole foods that keep you satisfied (not full),
energized and happy.

I know it’s difficult, but I have seen the rewards myself and encourage/challenge
you to try it for one week to experience this blissful high that comes from helping
your body to help you.

This entry was posted in Thoughts by Trainer Kim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trainer Kim

I love my God, husband, friends, family and sometimes my cat. My passion is challenge and my goal is to constantly exceed my expectations. I love to hike, bike, swim, run, jump and do Crossfit. I am usually in the kitchen baking or cooking something healthy and (hopefully) delicious! I love fitness and nutrition and strive to help people change their lives by training their bodies!

3 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Hey! Great idea for a blog. Just a thought, I’d love it if you posted what you eat. I know that sounds crazy, but honestly, one of my biggest challenges is getting stuck in the food rut. I like the mini meal idea, but I’m not sure what some good combos are.

Leave a Reply

